3KCBWDAY7- Craft Whore

Craft whore. Fiber slut. Yarn ho. I am not faithful to any craft. Just when knitting thinks it has me in a monogamous relationship, I have an affair with crochet. And when they are both not looking I make a booty call to loom knitting. Occasional I’ll even have a weekend fling with my hand spindle.

I can’t help it. Crafting with yarn turns me on. If someone ever creates a support group for yarn crafting nymphomaniac, I’ll be the first to sign up and join.

Now, I didn’t start this way. I started out being a fully committed woman to my crochet. For several months I was the ‘good wife’ in my relationship with crochet. We were always there for each other and crochet gave me such joy. But then one day walking through the craft store I was seduced by a couple of long shiny rods. I wasn’t looking to cheat on my crochet, I just liked the attention I was getting from those needles. Well, one thing lead to another and before I knew it, I was see knitting behind crochet’s back. At first it was just occasional visits, but soon it grew to be more. At one point crochet started to suspect, but I always came up with good excuses as to why I’d been neglecting my granny squares.

But one day I crochet came home early and walked in on me and knitting in bed. I begged for forgiveness and swore I would end the whole affair. And I did. . . .for a while. The need was too great. I just couldn’t stay away. So now I lead a double life, neither one knowing about the other.

At one point the stress of leading this double like got the best of me and I needed a vacation. So I figured a weekend in Hawaii for myself was a good way to clear my head and get my life straight. Instead I met loom knitting. Maybe it was the sun and sand or fifth Mai Tia I had, but I just remember waking up the next morning with loom knitting by my side. It was a magical weekend that I never wanted to end. When it was time for me to go home we just couldn’t break it off. We promised each other that we would meet every chance we got.

As you can see, once I started down that slippery path there was just no turning back. I’m addicted. And I can’t help myself. You can judge me. Call me names it you want.  But this is who I am. Will I be able to do this forever? No. But I’ll continue to do it as long as I can. My desires far outweight my shame.

Leave a Reply

