3KCBWDAY3-My Muse

Being a knitter, one would expect me to have a list of famous knitters that I would consider my muses and mentors. But the truth is, I don’t. I do like Cookie A., (and that’s mainly because I was in the same knitting group with her when I lived in San Jose). I also like Anne Hanson of Knitspot, but I confess it is because she is in an interracial relationship just like me and spoils her hubby the same way I do. The fact that she happens to be a kick-ass knitter is just a bonus.

No, my true muse is not what most people would expect. . . .

Music!

Nothing moves me and inspires me the way music does. I am a slave to its power over me. A duet between Kenny Loggins and Amy Grant can result in a knitted purse. The voice of Garth Brooks can start me knitting a pair of leg warmers. And the sound of Josh Groban can move my fingers to crochet a lovely shawl.

I could never work  in a void of silence. I am a quite person by nature, who usually prefers the sound of my own heartbeat. But when it comes time to create, my work can only be done with its own soundtrack.

For those of you who may be curious, I’ll share with you some of the songs that move me the most to create. Those who have been following my blog for a while would not be surprised to know that Jamie Cullum is at the top of my list of artist whose music I love. Everything he touches turns to gold for me. I can’t listen to one of his songs without picking up my needles or hook. He just has that power over me. And I don’t mind saying that I like it.

Click on the picture to see one of my favorite Jamie Cullum performances.

Along with Jamie, here are a few songs that always work to get my creative juices flowing:

Alice’s Theme by Danny Elfman

Aria by Yanni

Bad Romance by Lady GaGa

Bring The Rain by Mercy Me

Comfortable by John Mayer

Haven’t Met You Yet by Michael Buble

Fireworks by Katy Perry

Right Round by Flo Rida

Footloose by Kenny Loggins

F**k You by Cee Lo Green

Hate On Me by Jill Scott

Grenade (Acoustic) by Bruno Mars

7 Days to Change Your Life by Jamie Cullum

Yeah! by Usher

Hallelujah by K.D. Lang

Hey Soul Sister by Train

Hollaback Girl by Gwen Stefani

The One by Mary J. Blige

I Belong To You by Muse

Nature Boy by Jamie Cullum

I Wish by Stevie Wonder

. . . and according to my iPod, 634 other songs that inspire me as well.

Leave a Reply

