Beading It Up This Winter

I’m still getting my feet wet with more advanced knitting techniques. The other day I actually did a cable stitch for the first time. It was scary and I messed up, (a lot), but it was nice to finally face doing something that I have been putting off learning for years. (And, in case you were wondering, no, I will not show you my work. I frogged it with a passion after I finally got a few cables done right. )

I recently picked up the Winter 2011 issue of Interweave Knits and there is a hat in there that has me really thinking of trying another knitting technique. On page 71 is the Holiday Lights Tam designed by Catherine Shield. It is, ‘a simple slipped-stitch pattern with a twist (that) drapes glass seed beads across like strings of twinkling lights.’

Holiday Lights Tam by Catherine Shields

So, this tam would require me learning to knit with beads, which, while a beautiful and rewarding technique, it has been something I have purposely avoided. Don’t get me wrong, I like beading. I use to design jewelry before I ever knitted my first stitch. But the thought of having to string all those beads falls under the same category as organizing paper clips by size and color.  I can do it, but there better be alcohol involved.

Close up of Holiday Lights Tam

Yet, this tam is really calling my name. Of course the lazy knitter in me would just as well knit this puppy without the beads, but honestly, it just wouldn’t be the same. I may just have to suck it up and learn how to knit with beads.

 

Holiday Lights Tam

 

Anyone else out there knitted with beads before? How was your experience? Is it really worth it? Would you ever do it again?

One thought on “Beading It Up This Winter

  1. Pingback: For People Who Beading It Up This Winter « Liver Chick Knits

Leave a Reply

