A Yarn Find At Ross

Yesterday, I joined my mother on our monthly shopping trip to Ross. The discount department store has become one of our favorite places to find name brand items and not have to pay name brand prices.

A few years ago I found a Baby Phat purse that was in season and selling at the high-end stores for around $50. I got mine for ten bucks! (I’m not usually a label chaser. Come on, I knit with no name bags of used yarn that I find in thrift stores. But there is something about getting a high-end item for dirt cheap that just feels so good!)

My mother loves the gourmet foods that sometimes end up there like turkish delights and Madagascar vanilla extracts.

Well on this trip I had in mind to buy a small crystal vase to replace the one I broke at my mother-in-law’s house. (How I broke the vase is a classified story that for now on will be known as incident HULA HOOP.)  Sadly, no vase really caught my eye. There was one vase that was shaped like what I could only figure was a constipated fish. Now while it was certainly a conversation piece, I was pretty sure I would be adding insult to injury if I presented it to my mother-in-law as a replacement piece.

Strolling through the paper/craft section of the store I started up a fight with myself. I was trying- unsuccessfully- to resist the urge to buy another journal. (I have a weakness for bounded sheets of clean blank paper.)  I attempted to distract myself with the other craft goods that lined the aisle. Among the cook books and stationery sets that looked like Tinker Bell threw up on them, something caught my eye. Purple and stringy, it was wedged between a book about stir fry and a pile of leather bound journals. I figured, as I pulled it out, that it would be one of those styrofoam balls wrapped in yarn that people like to decorate coffee tables with. But to my surprise it was an actual skein of yarn.

It was some sort of cotton yarn. I could tell that the moment I touched it. Why and how it ended up in Ross was a mystery to me. I just couldn’t fathom the idea that a yarn store would have  yarn that it couldn’t sell.  That’s like a chocolate cake going uneaten at a Weight Watcher’s meeting- it just doesn’t happen.

If seeing the yarn was a shock, what came next was equal to being hit with a taser gun. The yarn was discounted from the normal discounted price. So, if yarn in a  discount store gets discounted to clearance price- it’s that a knitter’s wet dream or something?

Needless to say, I bought it. The yarn is now safe here at home, but it’s still in the shopping bag. I figured I would give it a good grooming before I place it in the stash with the other yarns.  With the damage done to its label, I don’t want the other yarns to think I’ve been picking up skeins from the wrong side of the tracks.

So, what yarn is it? It is a Ella Rae Baby Cotton. 88% Cotton, 12% Nylon. 50 grams of DK weight goodness in a deep violet color.

image

Here is proof that I wasn’t kidding about the reduced price. I still can’t believe it.

image

Despite the label looking as if it lost bar fight, the yarn shows no signs of damage.

One thought on “A Yarn Find At Ross

  1. OHHH! You hit the jackpot on that lovely yarn! I’m so glad you found it a home! I have to admit that I am a sucker for journals, too! Right now I have about 6 laying about the house. That and colorful pens And yarn, of course!

    It’s a wonder I can walk through my house! Thanks for this wonderful story!

Leave a Reply

