Toorie Uncharted

image

I finally finished the Toorie hat that’s been taking up my size #7 needles for far too long. It was a slow process making the hat as I worked purely from the pictures posted from other people who had made the hat. Yes, you heard right. I don NOT use a pattern to make this hat. I studied the pictures and figured it out myself. No, I wasn’t being cheap, trying to avoid paying the designer for her pattern. I wanted to test myself to see how well I could do in copying a design.

Looking at the final product, I must admit that I did pretty well. There are some differences between mine and the actual design- especially in the side decreases. This project turned out to be an interesting challenge to test my skills as a knitter and to help me better understand garment construction in knitting designs.

Have you ever looked at a knitted item and made one like it without ever looking at a pattern? Please do share!

Leave a Reply

