Don’t Make Me Pull Out My Spinning

image

Yes, as you can see, I’ve broken out the spinning again. It seems to happen whenever everyone around me are having ‘over the top’ problems and they all seem to drag me into them.

My hubby knows the signs- I start drinking coffee, I stay up late playing kill the alien computer games and I sigh loudly every time the phone rings. My kindness starts to wear thin and at some point I announce that I want to move to France and not come back until everyone figures out their lives and stop putting me in the middle of all their drama.

Then my wonderful hubby kindly recommeds I just go M.I.A. and stop answering the phone and door. I entertain the thought for a moment, but then remember my crafty solution. I start spinning.

It is amazing the power of spinning around non-spinners. Your best friend finds it difficult to talk about her problems with boyfriend #23 when you are spinning wool in front of her. Your other friend gets too distracted by the swirling spindle to remember to launch into his two hour conversation about how all his problems in life stem from his strained relationship with his mother.

When people call with the ‘I-really-don’t-care-because-I-only-called-to-talk-about-myself’ “How are you doing?”, and I tell them that I’m having fun spinning today, well, that statement leaves them a bit speechless and shortens our conversation a lot.

I think in our society, people seem to associate spinning as something people do who are not all their in the head or mentally unstable. Let’s face it, in the age of iPads and Kindles, anyone spinning looks like a freak. So, people who see me spinning usually talk a bit softer to me and are generally nicer too. My friends all back off, assuming I must be on the verg of a mental breakdown and I do get the benefit of less stress from having less drama in my life.

I highly recommend that the next time someone in your life comes through the front door with that, ‘stop-everything-you-are-doing-because-my-life-and-my-over-dramatized-problems-are-much-more-important-then-you’ attitude, pour the two of you some tea, break out your spinning and then see what happens.

Leave a Reply

