What I’m Reading This Week

image

My bi-weekly trip to the local library resulted in the find of this wonderful book- “Super Stitches Knitting” by Karen Hemingway.

First of all the author’s last name is Hemingway. After reading “The Sun Also Rises”, when I was 10, I was convinced that people with the last name Hemingway must be related to Ernest and therefore are cool by association.

So, the point is, that the book was cool before I even opened it. But when I did start to read it, the cool factor increased.

Yes, this is yet another stitch pattern dictionary, but its not set up the way most are.  Instead of endless black and white pages crammed with little window squares showing a portion of the pattern, you get the whole pattern still on the needles! That’s right, each pattern is pictured still active on the needles and in nice glossy full color. Karen uses various yarn weights and colors to help bring out each stitch pattern to its fullest.

More then 300 stitch patterns are presented in this book. It’s just one of those books that you want to keep going back to when you want a clear idea of how a pattern will look on your needles before you cast on. I may actually cry a little when I have to return the book to the library.

(Hey, Santa Claus, if you’re listening, I’m putting in an early request. Please let me get this book for Christmas. If you’re still on vacation and don’t want to deal with Christmas orders this soon, feel free to pass along my request to the Easter Bunny. He can give it to me in place of the hollow chocolate bunny I usually get. Thanks!)

Leave a Reply

