To Stitches West and Beyond!

 

It is strange to think that I live so close to one of the biggest knitting events in the US, yet as of a year ago, I knew nothing about it.

I started attending Bobaknits in March only to learn that I had just missed the Stitches West event that happened in my own backyard.  The ladies were still talking about the classes they took, the yarn they bought and showing off new knitting bags and needles.

As for me, I sulked in my seat, knitting away with needles I bought at the Goodwill and some no name yarn that I still can’t remember where I got it from. Not that I was complaining, but I’ve never been to any really cool crafting event. The first time I ever walked into a convention hall was to attend a bridal show while I was planning my wedding.

Over the years I’ve watched my friends return from scrapbooking expos, beading shows and religious conferences with bags full of goodies , great stories and an expanded circle of friends. All I’ve ever returned with was an empty carton of ice cream and two pounds added to my hips from my own pity party.

Well, no more. This year I plan to attend  Stitches West! If God be willing and the creek don’t rise, I want to be there to shop for yarn, knit with someone other than my bedroom mirror and learn something new.

I also hope to attend the Sock Summit. This may be a bit harder to swing as the price of attending this event is going to be much higher than Stitches West, but I will not let cost hinder my efforts. I’m stitching away right now making products for my store on Etsy that I hope will pay for my trip there.

I figured if I can’t raise enough money to attend Sock Summit, I’ll hitchhike my way there, camp out in the parking lot of the convention center and feed myself by digging in the garbage bins behind Voodoo Donuts.

Let me know if any of you will be at Stitches West of Sock Summit.

Leave a Reply

